Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Spam victims are catching up to Ad-eliminator.com

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Anti-Spyware and Security Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cwillis
Newbie


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Last Visit: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Spam victims are catching up to Ad-eliminator.com Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm glad this board is here, full of people who have been active in pursuing Ad-Eliminator not only for its sketchy Ad-Aware lookalike program, but for its massive spam campaign. I have a few updates on the Ad-Eliminator situation, after having spent the last few days assailing it on all fronts for several spam emails received last week. There's a good bit of info here, so the message is rather long. I hope it will satisfy some curiosity about Ad-Eliminator's background.

Ad-Eliminator.com is run by Global Entertainment Solutions, Ltd., an Israeli firm that is ostensibly an adult-entertainment business. GES and their one-man ISP, Global Innovations, Inc. operate in collusion to encourage and profit from spam advertising. Chances are, that's how all of us found out about Ad-Eliminator.com. After all, most people won't pay $30 for a program that does what Ad-Aware and Hijackthis can do for free.

GES is in Tel Aviv, but they had several "front" business addresses in the U.S. which turned out to be postal forwarding companies. One address was in Sarasota, FL. The other was in Houston, TX. I say "was," because both of these mail forwarders have BANNED GES as of yesterday because of the recent Ad-Eliminator spam crisis and all the complaints we sent 'em! The company is undoubtedly looking for a new U.S. business address at this point, so keep your eyes peeled for a new forwarding account. We'll nix it the minute it shows up! Mail forwarders HATE shady characters and spammers.

On another front, GES (gescenter.com) and Global Innovations (globali.net) have been having a real hard time holding ISP connectivity these past two days. On Monday, they were on the WCG network, but WCG canned them by Tuesday morning. On Tuesday, they were hosted by PTPTech, but again got canned for spamming. What an amazing turnaround time! Thanks to WCG and PTPTech for replying to complaints so quickly. Today (Wednesday) these rogue spammers are hosted by Cogent Communications. But by the time you read this, that might have changed (heh). We need to catch them and flush them out every time they change, until they see the futility of the whole ordeal.

As I said, Globali (who appears to "host" ad-eliminator.com but is really in bed with them) is a one-man show. It used to be a two-man show, but now the owner and sole employee is an ethically-challenged fellow named Ramsey Lamerson. Globali is officially listed in poor standing with the State of Maryland's tax office. Ramsey rents his space in Frederick, MD from a respirator supply company called JSP USA, and shows up for work about once a month. JSP is perfectly upstanding business, but unfortunately rents space to this guy in a suite on Wedgewood Blvd. IF THEY HEAR FROM LOTS OF ANGRY PEOPLE, they will probably decide to terminate Ramsey's lease. Send me an email if you want JSP's phone number. Good folks, and I'm sure we can get them to dust their hands of Globali.

I have several email addresses for "top" people at GES, as well as for Mr. Lamerson. Please let me know if you want these addresses. Many people need to email these guys the spam they get touting ad-eliminator.com, and we all need to collectively demand restitution. This spam gang must be crushed completely, and we can do it. We ARE doing it! HELP KEEP UP THE PRESSURE.

Best Regards,
Carl Willis
willis.219@osu.edu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2010
Posts: 10722
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The original forum thread about Ad-Eliminator which alerted us to this program is here:

http://spywarewarrior.com/viewtopic.php?t=4443

The person who started that thread was spammed by the company.

The blog post, now with 40 comments, is here:

http://www.netrn.net/archives2/000625.html

Great work Carl! Big Thumb Up
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Anti-Spyware and Security Software Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group