Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Bulldog Puppies For Adoption

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spam
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Expert Developer

Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 02 Dec 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: yes

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 5:01 am    Post subject: Bulldog Puppies For Adoption Reply with quote

Delivered-To: [spamtrap]
Received: by with SMTP id n3cs56274ybg;
Fri, 20 Feb 2009 66:66:66 -0800 (PST)
Received: by with SMTP id z6mr814434iba.29.6666666666666;
Fri, 20 Feb 2009 66:66:66 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <philpaws2@gmail.com>
Received: from ab17c1056.com ([])
by mx.google.com with SMTP id s35si4175233qbs.26.2009.;
Fri, 20 Feb 2009 66:66:66 -0800 (PST)

Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: is neither permitted nor denied by domain of philpaws2@gmail.com) client-ip=;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: is neither permitted nor denied by domain of philpaws2@gmail.com) smtp.mail=philpaws2@gmail.com
Message-Id: <xxxxxxxxxxxxxx@mx.google.com>
From: "Carrie Osborne." <philpaws2@gmail.com>
Reply-To: philpaws4@gmail.com
To: [spamtrap]
Date: Fri, 20 Feb 2009 66:66:66 +0700
Subject: Bulldog Puppies For Adoption.
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2919.6900 DM
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable is listed on Spamhaus' PBL which means that it's an address that is not supposed to send any mail at all. It is also listed on the CBL which means it is probably a compromised Windows machine (now happily serving as spam hydrant). Whois reveals that this machine belongs to a broadband ISP located in Thailand.

inetnum: -
netname: BuddyB
descr: BuddyB Broadband service network, Advance Datanetwork Communicatio ns Co.,Ltd.
descr: Internet service provider, Bangkok, Thailand
country: TH
admin-c: BD70-AP
tech-c: BD70-AP
mnt-by: APNIC-HM
remarks: -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
remarks: This object can only be updated by APNIC hostmasters.
remarks: To update this object, please contact APNIC
remarks: hostmasters and include your organisation's account
remarks: name in the subject line.
remarks: -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
changed: hm-changed at apnic.net 20050316
source: APNIC

Of course the supposed domain ab17c1056.com name is totally bogus, as the domain is not registered at all and the compromised machine hasn't even got a PTR record.

Ok, on with the message body:


My name is Carrie Osborne and I am the Adoption Coordinator of the Animal Welfare Society located in Quezon City, our mission is to provide temporary care and shelter for stray, abandoned and
relinquished animals, and to place as many as possible into responsible and caring homes.

We are currenly full with no more rooms for new arrivals and now looking for adoption homes for a group of english bulldog puppies.

If you are interested in adopting any of these dogs, please contact us immediately.

Thank you,

Carrie Osborne.
Adoption Coordinator
Small Horseshoe, New Manila
Quezon City 1112
Tele/Fax : + 63 2 638 8567

Open Mondays to Saturdays, 10am to 5pm. Closed on Sundays & Holidays.

No virus found in this outgoing message
Checked by PC Tools AntiVirus ( - 10.100.044).

I'm not clear what this guy is trying to accomplish, but it looks like a fraud that depends on two working drop boxes:

Usually, people in the Philipines have Spanish sounding names (for historical reasons) and it does not seem plausible to me, why someone needs to resort to spam for giving away puppies when it could be much more easily done locally.

If we dig deeper, we can find that this phone number is located in the Philipines, however assigned to a different entity:

Thank you for visiting the Richmonde Hotel's official website. To help us serve you better, please send us your comments, suggestions, or inquiries through any of the channels below:

The Richmonde Hotel
21 San Miguel Avenue
Ortigas Center, Pasig City 1600
Metro Manila, Philippines
Tel. Number: +63 2 638 7777
Fax Number: + 63 2 638 8567
Email: [omitted] at richmondehotel.com.ph


I suppose, talking to a fax device may turn out to be difficult, unless someone happens to speak its dialect Wink

Petcord netlabel :: Synflict post-digital arts :: Leftob audio cast
Each click on any of the links above will save the life of a cute kitty somewhere in the universe.

Last edited by olliver on Tue May 05, 2009 12:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 19 Mar 2018
Posts: 10420
Location: at the beach

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No puppy pictures? Wink
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spam All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group