Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

AntiVermins.com : New Rogue Anti-Spyware

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Anti-Spyware and Security Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SUPERAntiSpy
Warrior


Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Last Visit: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:16 am    Post subject: AntiVermins.com : New Rogue Anti-Spyware Reply with quote

A new rogue has appeared called AntiVermins - from Russia.

http://superantispyware.blogspot.com

Nick Skrepetos
SUPERAntiSpyware.com
http://www.superantispyware.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobince
SWW Distinguished Expert


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Jul 2010
Posts: 320

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, the language on their site is hilariously poor, even compared to others from this group (CWS.SpyAxe)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
olliver
Expert Developer


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 02 Dec 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: yes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for instance like this:

some anonymous website on Esthost wrote:
Nobody safe today! Who may say his PC is not infected?


*raises hand*
I'm using Linux and FreeBSD, so I wouldn't count here Wink

Quote:
The latest researches once again confirm, that to risk of infection are subject about 92% of all home PCs.


I'd like to see a citation from a reliable source with reasonable expertise in the field of malware describing how the research was done. A mere figure doesn't automatically state a fact.

Quote:
One of the famous causes still the Internet


Who is the famous? What is he/she/it still causing? Hm, looks like the sentence is incomplete...

Quote:
And here set of users fall for the bait the various trading companies and commercial websites which make large-scale distribution of viruses.


I miss a definition here: What kind of trading companies and commercial websites distribute virii? And in what relation to legitimate websites?

Quote:
These viruses get to inexperienced user through "free-of-charge" software products more often


The mere fact something is freely available doesn't automatically constitute a risk. Neither doesn't payware automatically guarantuee a "virus"-free* life.


Ollliver

--
* I'd prefer to use the more generic term "malware" instead to include spyware and trojans.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcukdat
Warrior Addict


Joined: 01 Jan 2005
Last Visit: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 757
Location: Yeovil,England.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a little chuckle when the homepage opened up.....whatever nextweek rodentkill Laughing

Nossirah has posted a url @ SAS support forums for a roguetopia of
recent/new rogues with occaisional smattering of legit softwares.

I would post a direct link but the lasttime i done that i got my hands slapped here even though it was a broken link(hXXp).

Its worth alook to see if there any more new ones being added Wink
_________________
Malware hunter....Got Bot ?

MIRT Handler >>>
http://www.castlecops.com/c55-MIRT.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mrkvonic
Warrior


Joined: 27 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
You need to understand Russian to get it. It's literal translation.
Not that I know Russian.
Anyhow, all your base are belong to us. If under age of three, must supervise on the genearch. Do not use this weapon to gallow anybody - written on my Chinese crossbow. Honest.
Mrk
_________________
http://www.dedoimedo.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 19 Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see that they've taken thier testamonails from the XoftSpySE website.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Last Visit: 28 Aug 2012
Posts: 3913
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed the poor English and grammar over the past year as well. I blogged about some pop ups that had some bad spelling and nonsensical grammar

Quote:
One way you can tell that the warning is not real is by some error in the warning. Misspelled English words that are not the ones that are usually spelled wrong is one of the easier ways to tell. Another one is the way the sentences are written. It just doesn't sound right. It is written in a way that no one who is a native English speaker would write it.


Maybe they watched "All Your Base Are Belong to Us" one time too many...
_________________
Nick's Security Ticker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
olliver
Expert Developer


Joined: 27 Jan 2006
Last Visit: 02 Dec 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: yes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

roger_m wrote:
I see that they've taken thier testamonails from the XoftSpySE website.


Shuffling and remixing data from some other - sometimes even legitimate - AntiSpyware websites seems to be a characteristic feature of these Russian AntiSpyware sites. I've even seen some of those sites recycling other AntiSpyware sites' "about us" company info, resulting in unusual accumulations of software companies competing in the same niche and sharing the same office in some town in Cyprus (must be either a huge hall or an anthill then).

Olliver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyAtHull
SWW Honors Graduate


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Last Visit: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 436

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once can hope they may leave a nice comment like this:

http://www.securitycadets.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/09/vrcomment.jpg

Or make another mistake like this:

http://www.securitycadets.com/images/pcsg.JPG

Cool
_________________
Andrew Kleijn
Securitycadets' Owner

Follow me on: Twitter | Follow Securitycadets' on: Twitter | Become a fan on: Facebook

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nosirrah
Warrior


Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Last Visit: 16 Jul 2007
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like sending these morons requests for information on the release date for their next variant (using my spam address of course) .




They never get back to me for some strange reason .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TeMerc
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009
Posts: 4953
Location: Phx. AZ.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Funny thing, this weekend whilst picking up some Chinese malwares, and looking thru my history file, I saw that url there, antiverminsDOTcom/?aff=11010

It was just one hit tho.
_________________

Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Anti-Spyware and Security Software Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group