Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Livesupportonthenet.com Online Tech Support, TRUST OR NOT?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
webhelper
SWW Expert


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 1090

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 9:13 am    Post subject: Livesupportonthenet.com Online Tech Support, TRUST OR NOT? Reply with quote

Clickhelp.net/ livesupportonthenet.com “14.95 a month for online tech support but can they be trusted?”

This type of service would be fine except for the fact of who owns clickhelp.net and what their other sites are doing that makes it hard to believe that you can get quality support when Traffix Inc. who are the new owners also not only support the Transponder Gang in installation of adware but they also install WhenU.com and Visicom Media adware along with running sites that deal in gambling and date and rate that charges to enter their porn related areas. They also use the Transponder Gangs OfferOptimizer.com advertising services to foist popup ads for imatchup.com and hotmatch.com that uses pictures that would lead one to believe that instead of online dating, the sites cater to S&M porn.

See My write about this:
http://home.comcast.net/~webhelper/transponders/potwbar.html

From Traffix PICKOFTHEWEB.COM site is where they have an ad stating “Take one free DVD and try the free fun and games toolbar.
http://home.comcast.net/~webhelper/transponders/potwbar.html


http://biz.yahoo.com/bw/040219/195099_1.html

PEARL RIVER, N.Y.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Feb. 19, 2004--Traffix, Inc. (NASDAQ:TRFX - News), today announced that it has signed an agreement to purchase all of the assets of LiveOnTheNet.com, Inc., the corporation that developed the technology platform that supports Traffix's new home pc technical support service marketed under the brand "ClickHelp."

livesupportonthenet.com/tos.php shows clickhelp.net in its terms and the copyright at the bottom of the site is to Traffix Inc.

XR1, Inc. (formerly LiveOnTheNet.com)From XR1.net shows the management team:
Roger Schneider, Director and CEO
Jeff Miller, Executive Vice President and COO
Scott Williams, Executive Vice President and CMO

XR1.net

2104 West Ferry Way
Huntsville, Alabama 35801
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: XR1.NET
Created on: 25-Jan-02
Expires on: 25-Jan-05
Last Updated on: 25-Jan-04

Administrative Contact:
Williams, Scott domains@xr1.net
XR1.net
2104 West Ferry Way
Huntsville, Alabama 35801
United States
256-705-7000

LIVESUPPORTONTHENET.COM
2104 West Ferry Way
Huntsville, Alabama 35801 United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: LIVESUPPORTONTHENET.COM
Created on: 28-Apr-03
Expires on: 28-Apr-06
Last Updated on: 22-Apr-04
Administrative Contact:
Schneider, Roger rsch@liveonthenet.com
LiveOnTheNet.com
2104 West Ferry Way
Huntsville, Alabama 35801 United States
(256) 705-7021


LiveOnTheNet.com, Inc. (LIVEONTHENET-DOM)
2104 West Ferry Way
Huntsville, AL 35801 US
Domain Name: LIVEONTHENET.COM
Administrative Contact:
LiveOnTheNet.com, Inc. (LC2675-ORG) info@LIVEONTHENET.COM
2104 W FERRY WAY SW
HUNTSVILLE, AL 35801-5340 US
+1.256.705.7000 fax: +1.256.705.7100


Webhelper
_________________
Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

webhelper
thank you yet once again for a grate new warning on one more sleezy company.

_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Nick
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Last Visit: 28 Aug 2012
Posts: 3913
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, so one of their sites infects you with adware, and then you pay them to remove it on another site....
_________________
Nick's Security Ticker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group