| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
YUGWEN Warrior

Joined: 17 Jun 2004 Last Visit: 23 Apr 2007 Posts: 121 Location: Oregon
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:24 am Post subject: bestnotospy.net DANGEROUS SPAM |
|
|
I have been working about 20 hours a week JUST on getting keywords and domains added to SPAM filters. One such SPAM message that I opened was so sneaky that it NAILED me. I should have known better, but I was in such a speed production mode of grabbing and inputting data that I let my guard down...
In a SPAM message there is a delayed "pop up" within the SPAM that poses as a mail error. (it is actually just an image link file but it downloads delayed so that it appears to "pop up") It exactly matches something you would see and just click on to close. Which, of course, I did. I normally move slow enough to notice a cursor change, but not this time... When I clicked on the red "X" it imediately hijacked me out to its website. SPAM/spyware/adware = virus! I immediately closed the window before it could finish loading, but now I have to scan this system for EVERYTHING...
This is something to watch out for, and should NOT be legal in any way shape or form! This is a 100% deceptive attack against everyone they send the message to. I am going to send this message to the authorities and see if they can slap these creeps down...
Watch out for these guys and their nasty tricks... bestnotospy.net  _________________ Absorb what is useful |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MadameX Site Admin

Joined: 12 Jul 2004 Last Visit: 27 Apr 2008 Posts: 1438
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the heads up, Yugwen!  _________________ CARMA |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
YUGWEN Warrior

Joined: 17 Jun 2004 Last Visit: 23 Apr 2007 Posts: 121 Location: Oregon
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:20 pm Post subject: Update- myspyzone.com same deal! |
|
|
I don't know who the paretn company for this stuff is, but I am sure it is creating a HEAP of victims. I don't know what it does, but I can only imagine what they do to the people that the con into going to their website...
myspyzone.com is using the exact same SPAM tactic as in the message above, so they are probably the exact same thing... I'm sure there are going to be more, so I will just edit this message and add their names to it if I see them. If anyone knows who is behind this please let me know. I am afraid to fully follow the link on a Windows machine, even as protected as I try to keep them... I think I will forward one of these messages to my Yahoo account and then go to it on my OS 8.6 Mac... That ought to slap down any of their nasty plans
I hope everyone is having more fun than I am
SPAM, Spyware, Adware, Viruses... Oh my! _________________ Absorb what is useful |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
3162 Honorary Site Admin

Joined: 31 Mar 2004 Last Visit: 04 May 2009 Posts: 4452
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yugwen, could you fwd one to me as well?
Send it to 3162 -at- spywarewarior.com
Thanks  _________________ Proud member of the Chest Zipper Club! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Chao284 Warrior
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 Last Visit: 06 Aug 2011 Posts: 220 Location: Bremerton, WA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Guys before making any new things, I beleve there is a connection to the new URL and to this virant wich is the same of coruse,
Spy-Control spy-control.com
spyware-list.info installs Searchmeup parasite (1); unconscionable license terms; dubious implied endorsement (1); Ad-ware knockoff (1); same app as Ad-Eliminator |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Scaramouche Malware Expert
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 Last Visit: 03 May 2006 Posts: 141 Location: Manila, Philippines
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 2:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
These guys are starting to pop up constantly for me from my 'research' vx2 infection. I think it's really sad that supposed spyware companies actually use SPYWARE-GENERATED POPUPS to flog their product. It's like shooting someone in the leg to try and sell them a bullet-proof vest. It also pitches Spyware Stormer, Privacy Defender, Spyware Nuker, BulletProof Anti Spy, and 'spyware ferret'. Ad rotations change usually every couple of days so it ends up being a 'who's who of rogue anti-spyware'. _________________ ---
My comments represent my own opinions and research. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
eburger68 SWW Distinguished Expert
Joined: 23 Jun 2004 Last Visit: 18 Nov 2008 Posts: 575 Location: Clearwater, FL
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Scaramouche:
Do you have screenshots of those pop-ups? URLs for the pages that pop up? If so, send them to me and I'd be happy to add that description to the rogue/suspect list.
Best,
Eric L. Howes |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Moore Moderator

Joined: 31 May 2004 Last Visit: 05 Jan 2011 Posts: 758 Location: °°.MooreLand.°°
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Wow , you hit the jackpot on these guys YUGWEN ..
This list of domains might help you block the rest of their garbage.
Lets all block them hey.. Looks like a few good entries for Spyware blocklists , Hosts and IE spyads I think
bestnotospy.net:82.114.48.64-82.114.48.64
bestnotospy.net
SPY-CONTROL.COM
82.114.48.0-82.114.48.255
Taurus Telecom interconnect block #48
Moscow, Russia
Russian Federation
Website Status: Active
Reverse IP: Web server hosts 160 websites
IP Address: 82.114.48.64
IP Location: - Taurus-block
Name Server: NS7.WDRHOSTING.COM NS4.BIGHOSTSOLUTIONS.COM
ICANN Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Created: 14-dec-2004
Expires: 14-dec-2005
Status: ACTIVE
Registrant:
kozlu i companiya
po box 4567
kiev, ua 65000
UA
Domain name: SPY-CONTROL.COM
Administrative Contact:
kozlodoev, ivan
po box 4567
kiev, ua 65000
UA
+38.0503106754
Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 30-Jan-2005.
Record expires on 14-Dec-2005.
Record created on 14-Dec-2004.
Domain servers in listed order:
LAYER1.MORPHEUS-SPYWARE.INFO
NS7.WDRHOSTING.COM 222.223.134.244
LAYER2.MORPHEUS-SPYWARE.INFO
NS4.BIGHOSTSOLUTIONS.COM 218.7.120.118
Blacklisted here :
http://www.joewein.de/sw/bl-log-2005-02-13.htm
| Quote: |
| morpheus-spyware.info (bl=2005-02-13, rogue-ns=layer1.morpheus-spyware.info, created=2004-11-10) |
A few garbage links pages I found googleing ^ morpheus spyware info name :
| Code: |
hxxp://www.spyware-links.com/morpheus-spyware/morpheus-spyware.html
hxxp://www.web-search-links.com/search.php?qq=spyware
http://www.livesearching.com/search.php?id=15&q=spyware
|
Domain status: ACTIVE
160 domains found on 82.114.48.64
As Suzi often says , dont click the links ! ..
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< _________________ | Stop Malvertising | Outpost | Blocklist Pro | Hosts | |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Scaramouche Malware Expert
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 Last Visit: 03 May 2006 Posts: 141 Location: Manila, Philippines
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| eburger68 wrote: |
Scaramouche:
Do you have screenshots of those pop-ups? URLs for the pages that pop up? If so, send them to me and I'd be happy to add that description to the rogue/suspect list.
Best,
Eric L. Howes |
Eric -
I'd be glad to. Unfortunately I'm leaving for a holiday this weekend but I'm sure that I'll have a nice crop of pop-ups to send you when I get back Monday night (Sunday your time most likely). _________________ ---
My comments represent my own opinions and research. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Scaramouche Malware Expert
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 Last Visit: 03 May 2006 Posts: 141 Location: Manila, Philippines
|
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Eric -
They've changed the ad catalogue again so I wasn't able to get all of the providers this time around but here's the four I did find. Unfortunately the BPS one doesn't have a traceable URL in it but I'll probably get an Ethereal dump for that.
 _________________ ---
My comments represent my own opinions and research. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Scaramouche Malware Expert
Joined: 06 Jul 2004 Last Visit: 03 May 2006 Posts: 141 Location: Manila, Philippines
|
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's another one just came up for privacy defender
 _________________ ---
My comments represent my own opinions and research. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
radio Moderator & HJT Expert

Joined: 21 May 2004 Last Visit: 05 Aug 2011 Posts: 260
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
<<bump>>
I've noticed a lot of SPAM activity for this group again in the last couple of days on our mailserver, coming from spambots
they're pointing to a differnet IP# now
_________________ PcPitstop Forums  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Moore Moderator

Joined: 31 May 2004 Last Visit: 05 Jan 2011 Posts: 758 Location: °°.MooreLand.°°
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
webhelper SWW Expert

Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Last Visit: 16 Jul 2011 Posts: 1090
|
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Moore wrote: |
Good catch Radio , thanks for the update..  |
Yes good catch and you will notice the IPs of most:
82.114.48.65
Our favorite Russian Federation IP blocks. _________________ Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|