Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

CPU usage to high

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
daddy h
Warrior


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 121
Location: saudi arabia via yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:04 pm    Post subject: CPU usage to high Reply with quote

Hi every one.
I was wondering if some one could tell me how i can tell if i need all the stuff ive got running actually running, when i check the cpu is almost always at 100% and the pc is real slow ive got 42 running processes at the moment and i havent got a clue what any of them are or if i need them to be running. Im running xp pro sp2, pentium 4 1700 MHz 1.72 GHz with 384 mb of ram. Any help would be appreciated, just keep it in easy to understand terms if you dont mind Laughing Thanks. Heather. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blinn
Warrior Guru


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi daddy h, first check Task Manager (right click on Task Bar at the bottom of your screen, then choose "Task Manager", click on "Processes" tab). There might be a process in there taking up close to 98-99% of your cpu power. I caught a virus before which did such a thing, however a 98-99% process is not always indicative of a virus problem. Regardless, spotting the process that is taking up your resources is a good starting point to solving the problem.

If you suspect there is some malware going on that could be causing problems, post up a Hijackthis log in the Hijackthis Log Forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello run these they will spot any vermin running on your machine.(well the most common ones!)
Download and install the newest version http://safer-networking.org/en/ (1.3.1 TX){DSO false positive fix patch} of SpyBot Search and Destroy http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4392.html - Note: If you have been using SpyBot S&D for some time, chances are you have version 1.2. For some unknown reason, the 1.2ís update feature does not alert you to the new version so you must download and install the new from the link above. Also, download and install AdAware http://lavasoft.element5.com/support/download/ - there are free versions of each. Before scanning, use each programsí update option to get the latest signature files, then scan, using SpyBot first.
-------
pick "one" of the trojin scanners. more if not solved.
a≤ Free is also a good malware cleaner and can be downloaded from: http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/download/?
TrojanHunter (trial) CastleCops http://computercops.biz/downloads-file-83.html Excelent app!
ewido trojin scanner CastleCops http://computercops.biz/downloads-file-357.html (w2k-xp only)has free version.
--------
Use "one" of these free on-line scanners (note some spyware,viruses and trojins have been known to disable PC based AV scanners):
http://housecall.trendmicro.com or firefox friendly http://uk.trendmicro-europe.com/enterprise/products/housecall_launch.php http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/com/activescan_principal.htm.
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blinn
Warrior Guru


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good advice there Smile

If there is ever any suspicion of a virus, Trojan, or other malware...

Take a sledgehammer approach and bash it with everything Wink

On the last part, I like running both Panda ActiveScan and Housecall instead of just one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blinn wrote:
Good advice there Smile

If there is ever any suspicion of a virus, Trojan, or other malware...

Take a sledgehammer approach and bash it with everything Wink

On the last part, I like running both Panda ActiveScan and Housecall instead of just one.

blinn i hope those are not two antivirus both set to active scan??
as two set to active scan can cause most systems to have seriuse problems. if you have one set to active but the seconed set to on demand than that is not a problem. i have norton set to active and avg is set only to run on demand.

and yes its best to run a full gambit of malware scanners to find out what is a problem. bashing them full force with no mercy is the best way!!!!!
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blinn
Warrior Guru


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I mean I run both online anti-virus scanners one after the other (not both at once of course). My resident PC anti-virus is Norton alone, I am talking about the online scanners Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3162
Honorary Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 04 May 2009
Posts: 4452

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heather,
'Clean Installs' are listed in this Tutorial, and show the required minimum running processes:
http://spywarewarrior.com/viewtopic.php?t=3773

It goes without saying, that other Programs added to the OS can also add other processes at Boot, or when they are run manually.

For a detailed list of running Processes, what they are, and what they do you may want to search the .exe here:
http://www.answersthatwork.com/
or here:
http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php

I would also go here
http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm
and change the way your OS Services are set to run.
_________________
Proud member of the Chest Zipper Club!


Last edited by 3162 on Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daddy h
Warrior


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 121
Location: saudi arabia via yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i have got a2 and spybot and adaware all updated today i use all of these every time i go on line as i like to download stationery for oe and i cant be sure that its not got baggage so i scan every time. I just did an online trojan scan at windows security.com which was clean, my on board av is panda platinum, unfortunately my other half wont let me put avg or avast which i think are alot better and as its really his pc theres not alot i can do about it. Mad I checked the task manager and for some reason the cpu is at 4% at the moment i did end task on idman so maybe that was the culprit though im not sure. Everything else is at 0% and only the system idle process is at 97 so im not sure what happened there. Confused I dont suppose that you know of a link i can go to that will tell me what all these running processes are, it would be nice to know. Thanks for the quick reply. Heather.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daddy h
Warrior


Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 121
Location: saudi arabia via yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed Embarassed sorry im not reading things properly am i ive just asked a question that youve already given me the answer to, well it is 3am here. THANKS agian. Heather
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group