Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Adware: "OpenSite"?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cissp
Newbie


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:16 pm    Post subject: Adware: "OpenSite"? Reply with quote

After installing Spy Sweeper and running my first scan, one of the hits (the other two being the Alexa Toolbar and Backweb) was something called "OpenSite". There wasn't any relevant information provided on this from within the program, so I emailed their technical support. I would like to know if anyone has any info on this adware, since Webroot does not. I am also particularly disturbed that even though Spy Sweeper caught this "OpenSite", SS&D, Ad-Aware, X-Cleaner, SpyCop, and HT did not. What follows is my email to them, and their response:

"Upon my initial scan, the results indicated the presence of adware named only as "OpenSite". Selecting more details only revealed a generic explanation that this was in the category of adware. I would like to have specifics on this. I scan my system almost daily with Spybot S&D, Ad-Aware, X-Cleaner, Norton AV, TrojanHunter, HijackThis, SpyCop, as well as keeping SpywareBlaster up to date, and am amazed that Spy Sweeper found this \"OpenSite\" (by the way, it also found the Alexa Toolbar, which my other applications did not catch).

Hello,
OpenSite is still being researched. It is a very new issue. You can read more about it here:
http://www.zuvio.com/terms.html"

Thanks,
Chuck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CalamityKen
Warrior Addict


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 611
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 5:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Adware: "OpenSite"? Reply with quote

cissp wrote:
OpenSite is still being researched. It is a very new issue. You can read more about it here:
http://www.zuvio.com/terms.html"

Thanks,
Chuck

No thanks! zuvio is both in my HOSTS file and IE-SPYAD.

Read more:
http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/library/opensite/index.phtml
_________________
Install IE-SPYAD and SpywareBlaster updated regularly available in the following links .
How did I get infected? http://boards.cexx.org/viewtopic.php?t=957
Calendar Of Updates http://www.dozleng.com/updates/index.php?&act=calendar
member
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cissp
Newbie


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 3:04 am    Post subject: Re: Adware: "OpenSite"? Reply with quote

Ken,

Thanks for providing the link below regarding Zuvio, who are responsible for OpenSite. As I said, Spy Sweeper detected this malware, and I deleted it, as well as configuring my system to not allow its presence in the future. I will pass on this link to Webroot, since they did not seem to have any information on it when I asked.

Chuck

CalamityKen wrote:
cissp wrote:
OpenSite is still being researched. It is a very new issue. You can read more about it here:
http://www.zuvio.com/terms.html"

Thanks,
Chuck

No thanks! zuvio is both in my HOSTS file and IE-SPYAD.

Read more:
http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/library/opensite/index.phtml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blender
Site Admin


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 10886
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

More info here:

http://sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/adware.opensite.html
_________________
Never give up!
Former Microsoft MVP Windows-Security 2005-2009

If we have helped you please consider a donation Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group