Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Beware of mozlla.org

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
datababe
Warrior


Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Last Visit: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Inside your head

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:08 am    Post subject: Beware of mozlla.org Reply with quote

This may be old news, but along the lines of goggle.com, yesterday hubby stumbled across a lovely little site that we suspect is prolly loaded with adware at least (if you venture there you'll note how many times they repeat themselves offering variations of "FREE DOWNLOADS"). I was going to go bounce around on it from the relative safety of OSX last night but my puppy had other ideas.

There may be no "i" in team, but make sure you've got one in Mozilla. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 19 Jun 2013
Posts: 10277
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting, thanks for that info.
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
datababe
Warrior


Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Last Visit: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 217
Location: Inside your head

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking around it now...I am a proponent of open source, and this is seriously misleading, and as far as I can tell, an outright scam.

Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WinHelp2002
Malware Expert


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mozlla.org = typical TypoSquatter site that is "Parked" along with "688,501 other sites hosted on this server".
http://whois.domaintools.com/mozlla.org
_________________
Mike
Microsoft MVP 1999 - 2006
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1"
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group