| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Chao284 Warrior
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 Last Visit: 06 Aug 2011 Posts: 220 Location: Bremerton, WA
|
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:56 am Post subject: For anyone on DeviantART, be warned about it's ads... |
|
|
Apparently, there is currently a report it's ads have tracked to 2 things as of early this morning and yesterday concerning 2 sites
hxxp://www.Zwinky.com - MyWebSearch
And the second URL not known but had the name "Outer-info", apparently it was linked to RichMedia aka TVMedia, and there was reports it attempted to exploit many systems in installing other adware, and as an advisory those were the 2 reports as of recent, please make a note on it. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Mija Martina Junior Member
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Last Visit: 29 May 2007 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks Chao284 i never click on adds at devinatart, but now i will be more carefull not to click on them accidentally  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
theCaptain Warrior

Joined: 11 Aug 2005 Last Visit: 20 Aug 2009 Posts: 85 Location: NY
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Chao284 Warrior
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 Last Visit: 06 Aug 2011 Posts: 220 Location: Bremerton, WA
|
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Mija Martina wrote: |
thanks Chao284 i never click on adds at devinatart, but now i will be more carefull not to click on them accidentally  |
No, problem, I'll keep you guys up to date with the latest on this, since when ever I see adware or related sites supporting adware, I get to the source, and yes that is part of my job on why I post here, to telp people. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Moore Moderator

Joined: 31 May 2004 Last Visit: 05 Jan 2011 Posts: 758 Location: °°.MooreLand.°°
|
Posted: Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the heads up , what a nice surprise for their guests.. Luckily you don't get any ads once you are logged in.. _________________ | Stop Malvertising | Outpost | Blocklist Pro | Hosts | |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Chao284 Warrior
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 Last Visit: 06 Aug 2011 Posts: 220 Location: Bremerton, WA
|
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Moore wrote: |
| Thanks for the heads up , what a nice surprise for their guests.. Luckily you don't get any ads once you are logged in.. |
Might as well check DA's Terms of Service, you have to pay at least $15 to $25 in order to get rid of their ads and have extra features on DA, non pain accounts get the ads as well as those who are not logged in. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Moore Moderator

Joined: 31 May 2004 Last Visit: 05 Jan 2011 Posts: 758 Location: °°.MooreLand.°°
|
Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah I'm a subscriber, so I havent seen any ads for a long time there. But I do notice them if I'm not logged in and have my hosts file/admuncher disabled.
When the ads were first introduced they were said to be only for non logged in users. I guess the temptation to make more money changed that real fast. _________________ | Stop Malvertising | Outpost | Blocklist Pro | Hosts | |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bobince SWW Distinguished Expert
Joined: 24 Nov 2004 Last Visit: 15 Jul 2010 Posts: 320
|
Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 pm Post subject: Re: For anyone on DeviantART, be warned about it's ads... |
|
|
| Chao284 wrote: |
| And the second URL not known but had the name "Outer-info", apparently it was linked to RichMedia aka TVMedia |
"OuterInfo" is ClickSpring group, of PurityScan and MediaTickets malware. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Chao284 Warrior
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 Last Visit: 06 Aug 2011 Posts: 220 Location: Bremerton, WA
|
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:40 am Post subject: Re: For anyone on DeviantART, be warned about it's ads... |
|
|
| bobince wrote: |
| Chao284 wrote: |
| And the second URL not known but had the name "Outer-info", apparently it was linked to RichMedia aka TVMedia |
"OuterInfo" is ClickSpring group, of PurityScan and MediaTickets malware. |
That so?
Well looks like Deviant Art really needs to double check this before they get some serious trouble, because it is getting bad and annoying seriously. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 18 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, OuterInfo is definitely ClickSpring. This EULA for Yazzle adware says:
| Quote: |
| IMPORTANT - READ CAREFULLY! This document is a legally binding agreement between you and Clickspring, LLC, and its affiliated companies ('the Company'). The enclosed software program, consisting of one or more Yazzle products (hereafter referred to as 'Yazzle'), the Outer Info Network client (hereafter referred to as the OIN client), the Company's advertising software, and the Outer Info Search client (hereafter referred to as OIN Search), |
http://www.yazzle.net/eula.php
Yazzle Sudoku is notorious for being downloaded though exploits, along with DollarRevenue and lots of others, and PurityScan is nasty stuff that resists removal. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|