| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
CalamityKen Warrior Addict

Joined: 06 Mar 2004 Last Visit: 26 Aug 2004 Posts: 611 Location: Ont. Canada
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nomorespyware Warrior Sleuth Expert

Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 04 Feb 2007 Posts: 219
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 4:19 am Post subject: Who do they think they're kidding? |
|
|
| Quote: |
| The tracking service could be used by job hunters who want to see if their résumés were read, or by salespeople wanting to track pitches. |
What a bunch of BS, it's a spamming tool anyway you look at it.
If spammers are curious about how I treat their email, the company would have to change it's name to DidTheyDeleteIt.com. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
iceblue Warrior Guru

Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 11 Apr 2006 Posts: 392 Location: Sydney
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 5:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Quote: |
| the company would have to change it's name to DidTheyDeleteIt.com. |
 _________________
Travel safely !  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
webhelper SWW Expert

Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Last Visit: 16 Jul 2011 Posts: 1090
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 7:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, for future reference:
Rampell Software LLC and Rampell Software Inc.
If this gets into the hands of adware marketing spammer (which it will), they will have yet another new tracking tool. Watch someone take it another notch up and hack it to add it to their adware installs so that it acts like a trojan that attaches itself to the users email and have the program monitor and transmit back to the controlling server when a user clicked on the spam and all that was done..I will try to create a profile of their activities and all so I can then do a write up in the future if needed but I don't think I will advertise this one on my web site to alert those who would use it to their own advantage in generating more profits.
Florida State Copr Data:
http://www.sunbiz.org/scripts/cordet.exe?a1=DETFIL&n1=L01000006231&n2=NAMFWD&n3=0000&n4=N&r1=&r2=&r3=&r4=RAMPELL&r5=
RAMPELL, RICHARD
122 NORTH COUNTY ROAD
PALM BEACH FL 33480
RAMPELL, ALASTAIR M MGRM
122 NORTH COUNTY ROAD
PALM BEACH FL 33480
DidTheyReadIt.com:69.90.152.224
Record last updated 05-15-2004 12:20:30 AM
Record expires on 09-10-2004
Record created on 09-10-2003
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.DNSCLUSTER.DIDTHEYREADIT.COM 69.90.152.228
NS2.DNSCLUSTER.DIDTHEYREADIT.COM 69.90.152.229
NS3.DNSCLUSTER.DIDTHEYREADIT.COM 69.90.152.230
***************
Registrant:
Rampell Software
122 North County Rd
Palm beach, FL 33480 US
617-395-7695
Domain Name: RAMPELLSOFT.COM 207.44.152.221
Administrative Contact:
Rampell, Alex alex@rampellsoft.com
122 North County Rd
Palm beach, FL 33480 US
617-395-7695
Record last updated 02-21-2003 05:36:56 PM
Record expires on 08-30-2004
Record created on 08-30-2000
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.VIEWREMOTE.COM 207.44.152.74
NS2.VIEWREMOTE.COM 207.44.238.92 _________________ Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
radio Moderator & HJT Expert

Joined: 21 May 2004 Last Visit: 05 Aug 2011 Posts: 260
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wawadave Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009 Posts: 3448 Location: Illegitimus non carborundum
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
CalamityKen Warrior Addict

Joined: 06 Mar 2004 Last Visit: 26 Aug 2004 Posts: 611 Location: Ont. Canada
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wawadave Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009 Posts: 3448 Location: Illegitimus non carborundum
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nick Site Admin

Joined: 27 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 28 Aug 2012 Posts: 3913 Location: California
|
Posted: Wed May 26, 2004 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I read a little bit about this at Slashdot. Sounds like it isn't that hard to beat, if you know what you are doing. Say reading mail with Mailwasher in plain text on the server. _________________ Nick's Security Ticker
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wawadave Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009 Posts: 3448 Location: Illegitimus non carborundum
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
3162 Honorary Site Admin

Joined: 31 Mar 2004 Last Visit: 04 May 2009 Posts: 4452
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 2:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Should be easy enough to write a filter for Mailwasher, deleting everything with the deleteit.com address/code/name etc.
It's just one more thing to watch for in the headers, before opening mail.  _________________ Proud member of the Chest Zipper Club! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|